01763 242344

Year 9 students find their voice

Well done to all the year 9 students who have been studying debating this term, culminating in a very lively in-school tournament with the final watched by the whole year group.

College governors Mr Chris Roope and Mr Dushy Chetty joined Vice Principal Vickey Poulter at the judges’ table. All said they were very impressed with the standard of debating, commenting that the standard gets higher and higher each year.

Those taking part were:

Motion: This House Would Tax Junk Food

Proposition: (winning team)
Jasmine Stacey
Isobel Wells
Ginevra Harraway

Josh Ding (Best Speaker)
Matt Gilliland
Amelia Perkins

Motion: This House Would return national treasures to their country of origin

Poppy Jack
John Cheeseright (Best Speaker)
Beth Makower (Best Overall Speaker)

Opposition: – winning team
Ciru Mungai
Katie Cheeseright
Matt Gilliland

Bassingbourn Village College

South End, Bassingbourn, Royston, Hertfordshire, SG8 5NJ

01763 242344